Home - Welcome to Vienna
Welcome to Vienna

Welcome to Vienna

As the federal capital of Austria Vienna can provide a high quality of life. Many people who live, study, migrate or visit the city can confirm that.

Even though Vienna may seem a little frantic at first glance, living in Vienna offers many possibilities to forget the everyday life and to have some fun. In various coffee houses and bars, at the “Heuriger” (a tavern selling homegrown wine), at festivals or parties – the inhabitants and visitors of this vivid city will always find something interesting for yourself. Sporty people and those who are looking for some rest will be pleased with several parks and green spaces. Plus, Vienna is one of the safest cities in the world (if there should still happen something, here are the emergency numbers: 122 – fire service; 133 – police; 144 – ambulance).

Prices and costs - Welcome to Vienna

Prices and costs

EU-wide the prices – since 1st January 2002 the official currency in Austria is Euro – are average.
Food and drinks - Welcome to Vienna

Food and drinks

In near proximity to the IFU Sprachschulung there are several cafés, bars, pubs and Kebap booths. Food and drinks are available for 10 € up to 30 € and more (depends on the location). A beer in the evening, for example, you can get for about 3,50 and more.
Accommodation - Welcome to Vienna

Accommodation

Whether a living community, a student residence, an own apartment – there’s plenty to find in Vienna. The rents can vary a lot – it depends on the district and the condition of the apartments or rooms. That means from about 185 € (e. g. a double room in a student residence) up to 600 € and more – there are many possibilities.
Transport - Welcome to Vienna

Transport

Public transport in Vienna is very good and affordable (as compared to European and even international standards). At the ticket machine you get one for 2,70 €, a weekly ticket costs 17,10 € and a monthly ticket 51 €.
IFU is reachable via Karlsplatz (U2, U3, U4, 4A; trams D, 1, 71 via Schottentor; tram 2 via Volkstheater) or via Matzleinsdorfer Platz (tram lines 1, 62; Wiener Lokalbahn).
In Vienna, many people also travel with their bikes, and there are several parking spaces for bicycles. For car drivers there are several parking garages (P+R) and parking areas with short-term parking zones (attention: pay and display tickets!)
Leisure time - Welcome to Vienna

Leisure time

You can go to the cinema and watch a movie for 9,90 € and more; Burgtheater for 3,50 € and more (standing place); Volkstheater for 5 € and more (standing place); Vienna’s English Theater for 25 € and more; Wiener Staatsoper for 15 €; Volksoper for 3 € and more (standing place).
Mit anderen kommunizieren - Welcome to Vienna

Communicating with others

Whether it’s your own mobile phone, WiFi accesses in different locations or a classical call box – in Vienna people can communicate quite well with each other.
Closed in 2019 - Welcome to Vienna

Closed in 2019

On the following legal holidays German courses are not taking place at the IFU institute:
Neujahrstag (1.1.2019), Hl. Dreikönige (6.1.), Ostermontag (22.4.), Tag der Arbeit (1.5.), Christi Himmelfahrt (30.5.), Pfingstmontag (10.6.), Fronleichnam (20.6.), Maria Himmelfahrt (15.8.), Nationalfeiertag (26.10.), Allerheiligen (1.11.), Maria Empfängnis (8.12.; Geschäfte offen), Christtag (25.12.), Stephanitag (26.12.)
<

Home - Willkommen in Wien
Willkommen in Wien

Willkommen in Wien

Willkommen in Wien - IFU

Als die Bundeshauptstadt Österreichs kann Wien eine sehr hohe Lebensqualität nachweisen. Dies bestätigen unter anderem die vielen Menschen, die hier wohnen, studieren, migrieren oder länger zu Besuch sind.

Zwar wirkt die Stadt auf den ersten Blick manchmal etwas hektisch, aber das Leben in Wien bietet sehr viele Möglichkeiten einmal den Alltag zu vergessen und Spaß zu haben. In diversen Kaffeehäusern und Bars, bei den Heurigen, auf Festen – die BewohnerInnen und BesucherInnen dieser lebendigen Stadt werden stets etwas finden. Sportlichere Menschen oder jene, die auf der Suche nach Erholung sind, werden sich über die zahlreichen Parks und Grünflächen sehr freuen. Zudem ist Wien weltweit eine der sichersten Städte (sollte doch mal etwas passieren, hier die Notrufnummern: 122 – Feuerwehr; 133 – Polizei; 144 – Rettung).

Willkommen in Wien 2 - IFU
Preise und Kosten - Willkommen in Wien

Preise und Kosten

EU-weit liegt Wien mit seinen Preisen – offizielles Zahlungsmittel in Österreich ist seit 1. Jänner 2002 der Euro – etwa im Durchschnitt.
Essen und Trinken - Willkommen in Wien

Essen und Trinken

In unmittelbarer Nähe der Sprachschule einige Cafés, Bars, Pubs und z. B. Kebap-Stände.
Essen und Trinken können ab ca. 15 € bis 30 € und mehr (kommt auf das Lokal an) kosten. Ein Bier am Abend kann ab ca. 3,50 € gekauft werden.
Wohnen - Willkommen in Wien

Wohnen

Ob in einer Wohngemeinschaft (WG), in einem Studentenheim (z. B. home4student oder MIGRA), in den eigenen vier Wänden – in Wien lässt sich so einiges finden. Die Mietkosten können – je nach Bezirk und Zustand der Wohnungen bzw. Zimmer – stark variieren. D. h. von etwa 185 € (z. B. Doppelzimmer in einem Studentenheim) bis über 600 € gibt es gute Möglichkeiten.
Transport - Willkommen in Wien

Transport

Die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel in Wien sind ganz gut und bezahlbar (im europäischen und sogar internationalem Vergleich). Eine Einzelfahrt kostet beim Ticketautomaten 2,70 €, eine Wochenkarte 17,10 € und eine Monatskarte 51 €.
IFU über den Karlsplatz erreichbar (U2, U3, U4, 4A; Straßenbahnen D, 1, 71 über Schottentor; 2 über Volkstheater) oder über den Matzleinsdorfer Platz (Straßenbahnlinien 1, 62; Wiener Lokalbahn).
In Wien sind außerdem viele Menschen mit ihren Fahrrädern unterwegs und es gibt hier und dort mehrere Fahrradabstellplätze. Für AutofahrerInnen gibt es einige Parkgaragen (P+R) und Parkplätze in Kurzparkzonen – Achtung Parkscheine!
Freizeit und Kultur - Willkommen in Wien

Freizeit und Kultur

Einen Film im Kino gibt es ab 9,90 €; Burgtheater ab 3,50 € (Stehplatz); Volkstheater ab 5 € (Stehplatz); Vienna’s English Theater ab 25 €; Wiener Staatsoper ab 15 €; Volksoper ab 3 € (Stehplatz) – s. sämtliche Webseiten!
Mit anderen kommunizieren - Willkommen in Wien

Mit anderen kommunizieren

Vom eigenen Mobiltelefon über WiFi-Zugänge in unterschiedlichen Lokalen bis hin zur altbewährten öffentlichen Telefonzelle – in Wien können sich Menschen gut miteinander unterhalten.
Ruhetage 2019 - Willkommen in Wien

Ruhetage 2019

An folgenden gesetzlichen Feiertagen finden keine Deutschkurse am IFU statt: Neujahrstag (1.1.2019), Hl. Dreikönige (6.1.), Ostermontag (22.4.), Tag der Arbeit (1.5.), Christi Himmelfahrt (30.5.), Pfingstmontag (10.6.), Fronleichnam (20.6.), Maria Himmelfahrt (15.8.), Nationalfeiertag (26.10.), Allerheiligen (1.11.), Maria Empfängnis (8.12.; Geschäfte offen), Christtag (25.12.), Stephanitag (26.12.)
<